Young Physicians Section (YPS)

The Young Physicians Section is composed of all members of the Academy who are under 40 years of age OR within the first eight years of professional practice after residency and/or fellowship training. All members meeting these criteria are automatically members of the YPS.

Young Physicians are the newest of the three sections of the Academy.  Recognizing that the 2000+ young physicians of the Academy are the future of the Academy, in 2013 the Boards of Directors approved the transition of the Young Physician Committee to the Young Physician Section (YPS).  The newly formed YPS takes over where the SRF leaves off. Young physicians who are members of the Academy, under 40 years of age or within the first eight years of professional practice after residency and fellowship training are automatically members of the section.

YPS Candidate Applications are now OPEN!

Each year, the YPS seek candidates to apply for appointed officer positions as well as positions on the YPS Governing Council.

YPS Candidate Applications are OPEN! Click here for the application. Deadline extended to July 31, 2019.

For more information, please contact

The YPS Roundtable series was created to provide focused, topical mentoring on issues relevant to young physicians. Each approximately one hour teleconference/webinar session features content experts having a discussion with YPs and taking questions from the attendees. The recorded sessions are available as a podcast for all AAO-HNS members.

Educational Webinar for Young Physicians

Healthcare attorney Nita Garg discusses Your First Employment Contract – What You Need to Know. The webinar was hosted by the Young Physicians Section on June 24.

Additional Information

About The Young Physicians Section

The Young Physician Section strives to be the professional home for Academy members who are under 40 years of age or within the first eight years of professional practice after residency and fellowship training; foster a community and a sense of belonging; allow for an on-going dialog among young physicians and with the Academy; and provide opportunity for an increased number of young physicians to engage in leadership and committee roles on unique young physician relevant issues. For all YPS-related inquiries:

The Section is governed by the Governing Council members and a group of appointed officers:

YPS Governing Council


  • Christina Baldassari, MD. Eastern Virginia Medical School.

Chair Elect

  • David S. Cohen, MD. Southern California Permanente Group.


  • Yin-Chun Carol Liu, MD, FACS. College of Medicine/Texas Children's Hospital.


  • Nausheen Jamal, MD. University of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Medicine.

Nominating Committee

  • Nihkila Raol, MD, MPH. Emory University School of Medicine/Children's Healthcare of Atlanta.
  • Tjoson Tjoa, MD. University of California at Irvine.

Immediate Past Chair:

  • Daniel C. Chelius Jr, MD. Baylor College of Medicine/Texas Children's Hospital

2018/2019 YPS Delegates:

BOG Socioeconomic & Grassroots (SEGR) Representative:

  • Valerie Fritsch, MD. South Carolina ENT

Board of Governors (BOG) Legislative Aff­airs Representative:

  • Sarah Burgin, MD. Indiana University School of Medicine

American Board of Otolaryngology (ABOto) Liaison:

  • Gregory Dion, MD. Brooke Army Medical Center

American Medical Association (AMA) Young Physicians Section (YPS) Delegate:

  • Nikhila Raol, MD, MPH. Emory University

ENT PAC Delegate:

  • Jonathon Mark, MD. Eastern Virginia Medical School

Are you ready to make a difference?

Each year, the YPS seeks candidates to apply for officer on the YPS Governing Council and as Appointed Delegates.

Learn more about YPS positions and work groups here

YPS Model Mentor Award

 2019 Applications Are Now Closed

Having good a mentorship is important to every phase of a physician's career, but perhaps never more critical than in the earliest years out of training. Recognizing the key role that expert mentorship plays in a young physician's success, the YPS has created the Model Mentor Award. Winners will be announced prior to the Annual Meeting.